side menu icon

Awesome Opportunities for Girls!

Highest Awards

The Gloria Barron Prize

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes invites applications for its 2017 awards. The Barron Prize celebrates inspiring, public-spirited young leaders ages 8 to 18 who have made a significant positive impact on people, their communities, and the environment. Each year, 15 winners will receive $5,000 to support their service work or higher education. The application deadline is April 15. Find more information and apply here.

The Congressional Award Program

The Congressional Award program, sponsored by the United States Congress, honors youth for setting and accomplishing goals in the areas of voluntary public service, personal development, physical fitness, and expedition/exploration. This award is given to youth ages 14 to 23 who complete a given number of hours across each area. To date, over 7.4 million hours of service have been contributed to communities across the country as a part of the Congressional Award program and there are currently over 45,000 youth enrolled. Hours accumulated through Girl Scout Gold Award projects or other Girl Scout activities can be counted toward a candidate’s goal as long as activities are in compliance with the award program guidelines. (Please note that hours accumulated by Girl Scouts prior to registering for the Congressional Award do not count.)

Youth can earn up to six different honors: Bronze, Silver, and Gold certificates and Bronze, Silver, and Gold medals.

GSNI-M urges girls to apply for the Congressional Award. Gold medal recipients will be recognized by members of Congress at an event in Washington, DC and are eligible to receive scholarships and other opportunities through schools and universities. All deadlines are rolling; Girl Scouts can start working towards a Congressional Award at any time.

Click to learn more and to access the Congressional Award program guidelines and instructions for logging hours.